No Attachments – No Aversions

Last night listening to one of Lester Levensons tapes about the fear of dying I tried to take a closer look at my own fear of death, and the struggle and drama we use leading up to that event. It seems to me that when we can let go of that fear the world changes into one great big opportunity. Releasing on the three or four wants is in fact releasing on this huge want, to survive as a body, to survive as a separate individual. The whole mental show we act out on is no more or less then a false belief we actually have a chance of pulling this off. Seen in that light methods No Attachments, No Aversions take on a new meaning because there is nothing to be attached to in the first place.

When you take an honest look at your day to day activities, thoughts, feelings actions or inaction’s you will, notice that just taking care of this body mind entity takes up about 95% of our energy. And for myself I need to say that this is a friendly count. I include all mental activity to earn a living, make sure nobody touches my lover, spending saving or lending money and so on in this category.

Ninety five percent, that looks like a lot of energy to spend, just to make sure this body survives. And this amount also makes you wonder if that’s not really an overkill when you consider that the race is lost anyway. I can fight struggle, worry and resist as much as I want but the end result will always be “a coffin”. Don’t get me wrong I’m not trying to paint a bleak depressed picture here. On the contrary actually, when I can see that 95% of my energy is spend on a lost case rerouting that amount of energy will have an enormous impact.

We are all going to die someday, depending on your age this can be within a minute or somewhere within the next 75 years. Survival as an individual is impossible, and the technicalities about my reproduction task are not difficult to comprehend either. To cut a long story short, In my day to day life I act and feel as if I have eternal life ( in the physical realm), but we haven’t. So why worry, what’s the significance of my special individual hurts, angers or hang ups. There is nothing to worry about, sure we need to act on threats, when our house is on fire we better get out and call 111 but why worry and plan ahead for something that can be planned to begin with?

Actually I find this idea on acceptance both troublesome and true. Hmmm really attached to it I guess

~ by barb2082 on July 8, 2009.

One Response to “No Attachments – No Aversions”

  1. please send me emails

Leave a Reply

 
